Do not stand at my grave and weep … Mary Frye (1932)

November 1, 2008

 

Do not stand at my grave and weep,
I am not there, I do not sleep.

I am a thousand winds that blow.
I am the diamond glint on snow.
I am the sunlight on ripened grain.
I am the gentle autumn rain.

When you wake in the morning hush,
I am the swift, uplifting rush
Of quiet birds in circling flight.
I am the soft starlight at night.

Do not stand at my grave and weep.
I am not there, I do not sleep.
Do not stand at my grave and cry.
I am not there, I did not die!

 

 

 

 

9 Responses to “Do not stand at my grave and weep … Mary Frye (1932)”


  1. you are the smile on a kid’s face
    you are the sound of the sea waves hugging the shore
    you are the moon light in a clear calm night
    you are the cold breeze in a summer night
    you are the fresh cold water in a sunny hot desert
    you are everything sweet and delightful in this cruel life

  2. raunaq2012 Says:

    A very nice poem, probably the only work of hers…did a little wiki check and came across this:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Do_not_stand_at_my_grave_and_weep

    Great nevertheless.


  3. “raunaq2010″ yes thats true ” and I’m glad u liked it, Really Thank you
    “firstknight” that is the most sweet comment I ever had .

  4. thefirstknight Says:

    “Poetry is the revelation of a feeling that the poet believes to be interior and personal but which the reader recognizes as his own.”
    – Salvatore Quasimodo

  5. Eman Eltawansy Says:

    i like this,,,i like this very much.

  6. hisham agiza Says:

    like it so much.Do not stand at my grave and cry.
    I am not there, I did not die! its a beutiful meaning.

  7. enreal Says:

    Coming upon the anniversary of my fathers passing this was an affirmation… it is as if he spoke through your sweet voice… yet it is and always will be as it is… we hear what we need and when… thank you for Being


  8. I am so sorry for ur loss Enreal,
    I hope my post makes you feel better,
    well .. I can feel u cause I lost my father too ..
    I hope they are in Heaven now , all of them.
    Amin

  9. Tylor Says:

    This is amazing, absolute.
    I have subscribed to your blog, by the way.
    I also have a myspace account, feel free to add me if you have one and would like to.

    http://www.myspace.com/1989camaroiroc_z

    Thank you for your time.

Leave a Reply

